Regional Office of Education #13

Serving Clinton, Jefferson, Marion and Washington Counties

Considering Filing a Petition for Boundary Change?

The power to make decisions regarding school district reorganization by accepting or rejecting proposals for school district boundary changes, consolidations, divisions, and dissolution is held by the Regional Board. Boards were granted this duty in Article 7of the Illinois School Code, a part of state law that deals with public education issues.

Detachment/Annexation fees are paid by the petitioner. A down-payment of $1,000 is required at the time of filing. Unused funds will be returned to the petitioner after the determination hearing. This is a legal process and petitioners are encouraged to seek legal counsel.

For a general understanding of the process, please view this helpful video.


 Regional Board of School Trustees

The Regional Board of School Trustees is an elected board comprised of seven members. This elected board hears petitions for annexations, detachments and changes in school boundaries. The Regional Superintendent acts as Ex-Officio Secretary to the Board.

The main responsibilities of the Regional Board of School Trustees are:

  1. The hearing and disposal of petitions for change of school district boundaries
  2. The hearing and disposal of petitions by school districts to withdraw from Joint Agreements/Cooperatives
  3. The appointment of appraisers and approval of final settlements in the division of assets when new districts are formed
  4. Meetings are regularly held the first Monday of each quarter
County Name Term Expires
Dan Spangler, President 
April 2029
Marion Blake Hyde April 2029
Denny Hoffman April 2025
Tina Winkler, Vice President     
April 2025
Marion Luke Purcell April 2029
Jefferson Cathy Stanford April 2027







Please take notice of the regulary quarterly meetings of the Regional Board of School Trustees of Clinton, Jeffeson, Marion and Washington Counties. All meetings are held at the Mt. Vernon Regional Office of Education located at 1710 Broadway, Mt. Vernon, Illinois 62864 at 6:00 p.m.  Inquiries for Detachment/Annexation Petitions should be directed to Matt Renaud, Regional Superintendent of Schools at 618-244-8040.

Meeting Date  Time Petition Submission Deadline
Tuesday, July 18, 2023                     
6:00 PM                
Monday, October 2, 2023 6:00 PM Thursday, September 7, 2023
Monday, January 8, 2024 6:00 PM Friday, December 8, 2024
Tuesday, April 9, 2024 6:00 PM Friday, March 1, 2024

Clinton County
930 B Fairfax, Carlyle, IL
Phone: 618-594-2432
Fax: 618-594-7192
Hours 8:00-12:00 and 1:00-4:00

Jefferson County
1710 Broadway,
Mt. Vernon 62864
Phone: 618-244-8040
Fax: 618-241-7868
Hours 8:00-12:00 and 1:00-4:00

Marion County
1475 West Whittaker Street, Salem IL 62881
Phone: 618-548-3885
Hours 8:00-12:00 and 1:00-4:00